The Painful Process of Self-Actualization

Over the last two years since Andy and I moved back from Spain, we’ve been sorting out our lives. As a couple, we’ve grown closer than ever. We know how to live together comfortably, we can navigate the tough stuff together and we love talking about goals. We aren’t terribly future oriented but graduate school is a place of transition so we’ve had some conversations about when Andy graduates and finally starts teaching (!). I think grad school has played a big gigantic part in Andy’s ability to work toward a larger goal. When faced with the decision to go back to school, he carefully thought out the reasons and created his plan. The fact that I get a killer discount on tuition was a big part of our grad school survival plan. My plan to keep on working has kept up.

So now it’s my turn. I am seeking more and it’s difficult to evaluate what shape I want my life to take in terms of career. I love my job because it gives me the opportunity to work with diverse people but working in an office can only go so far. I’m still the person responsible for the copier. At night, I go home to sew and craft. That is in part because Oregon winters are dark things that keep me inside. Do I want to try and make my hobby into a career? At this point, the answer is “nah”. I’m too selfish with my art. PSU’s program in Sustainability Education looks intriguing. I’m attending an info session in January. Report to follow.

One thought on “The Painful Process of Self-Actualization

  1. Whatever you choose to do, you will be awesome! Explore the possibilities, teaching..writing …your organizational skills are incredible, just enjoy whatever you do! Love You. : )

Leave a Reply

