To My Mom

This illustration totally reminds me of my mom when I was growing up. My grandpa was an optometrist so both my mom and dad had epically large glasses all during my childhood and my mom to this day has her gorgeous long red hair. She was the mom who loved to help me with my math homework, comfort me when friendships turned sour and made treats during sleepovers. She is one of my best friends.

For one of my birthdays (5 years old?) she collected giant cardboard boxes and joined them together and painted them to create a Sesame Street playground in the backyard. I played in that thing until it crumbled thanks to Oregon rain. She was always the one that took pity on every animal that came our way so that our house was always full of kids and dogs and cats and sometimes miniature hamstersor love birds. She was the one who said, “See ya later and have fun!” as I stood in my dorm room the very first day at college hugging my dad while we both cried. She was the one who always encouraged me to keep writing.

Thanks Mom! I love you.

Me and Mom

3 thoughts on “To My Mom

  1. how precious! I almost teared up because it made me think of my mom as well:) That is a great picture of you guys.

    mandeepearson.blogspot.com

  2. Dear one, what a lovely tribute to the amazing woman who has helped make you the wonderful young woman you are. She deserves it!

Leave a Reply

