On the Bookshelf

Currently Reading: As someone who is now officially renting an apartment with a south facing balcony, I’m very interested in getting a little container garden growing. To that end, I recently bought a groupon for a gardening store and I’m reading Grow Great Grub by Gayle Trail. The writing is straightforward, if a bit lacking in explicit details, and her anecdotes are a hoot.

Currently Reading: Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson has been checked out from the PSU library for the last few months so it’s been on my to-read list for awhile. It’s a young adult book, but as already discussed on this blog, I could care less about that categorization. I checked it out today because I forgot my gym clothes at home and I wanted something to keep me occupied during my lunch break. So far, it’s pulled me straight down into a grimy and oppressive revolutionary war era America.

Recently Read: Night World by L.J. Smith is a blah kinda book. The font is huge so it reads wickedly fast. The three short stories were desperately similar to one another and all based on the idea of an overwhelming connection to your soul mate. I didn’t buy it, didn’t really enjoy it and would not recommend it. I was surprised at how little I liked it. It made me want to gag in parts.

One thought on “On the Bookshelf

  1. Thanks for the info, now I can skip reading the L.J. Smith Book. Your going to truly enjoy your container gardening next year, can’t wait to see what you grow.

Leave a Reply

