On the Bookshelf

Recently Read: The Complete Persepolis is a graphic novel written by a woman about her firsthand experiences during the Iranian Revolution in the 1980’s. It’s engaging, well-written and extraordinarily creative. Whenever I read a book about a brand-new-to-me subject, I feel like a new window opens up in my thoughts. This was one of those books. I’ve been thinking a lot about present-day Iran how the revolution impacted everyone, especially given that it happened so very recently. I found her drawings of herself especially interesting as her facial features and looks morph while she goes through stages of self-deprecation or happiness. There is a movie adaptation of this book but I haven’t seen it or heard much about it.

Recently Read: I am hook, line and sinker a fan of the Hunger Games trilogy. The finale was highly anticipated and boy did it deliver. It was emotional, action-filled and managed a satisfying conclusion. I can’t really think of anyone who wouldn’t like these books. They’re awesome. Mockingjay was especially poignant compared to the pervious two books. Protagonist Katniss suffers, fights and ultimately . . . . well, you’ll have to read it to find out.

Currently Reading: Originally delivered as a radio speech during World War II, this book captures the emotions of a pivotal moment in time while covering the basic tenants of Christianity. I’ve just begun, but I already feel like this is going to be a great read. It’s logical and sensitive. I’m quickly seeing why so many people consider it a must-read.

Leave a Reply

