Tuesday Night

Last night was a parade of new happy hour locations.

First Stop: Serrato. A neighborhood restaurant and bar with a distinctly upper crust feel to it. The Happy Hour has been on our to-do list for awhile because of all the hullabaloo we’ve heard about it. The decor was slightly confused (butterflies painted on the bathroom walls?) and the service left a bit to be desired, but I accept that as a happy hour related normality. Andy had the burger, I had pizza and calamari and our friend Jessica had lamb meatballs and a Caesar salad. The food was good but not breathtaking. However, the red wine on special was very tasty. Recommendable happy hour, especially since there’s no drink minimum. But buy a drink. Try the red.

Second Stop: Saint Cupcake. This Portland establishment provides cupcake-goers with a decent selection of fresh cupcakes in all sorts of flavors and colors. I shared a lemon berry cupcake and a chocolate coffee with Andy. As a non-enthusiast of frosting, I really dug the lemon berry for its light cap of berry icing while Andy devoured the chocolate cupcake that was overpowered by at least 2″ of coffee frosting. Overpowered in a great way. Even I ate some of that frosting. The mini sizes make trying a few flavors hard to resist.

Third Stop: Vault. After trying a being decidedly disappointed by the overly sugary drinks at Bartini in our neighborhood, I was very happy to discover Vault. Our friend Jessica is a big fan of their cocktails and for good reason. Their drink happy hour list is extensive. I started with the French 75, a mix of champagne, gin and lime. Damn. So good. I moved onto a Geisha made with ginger vodka, sake and lime. It was life changing. Then our waitress brought a special Habanero martini. I took one sip of that and just about died it was so spicy. My mouth burned for a solid 10 minutes. Then I took another sip, forgetting myself, and promptly tried to wash it down with my other cocktail. Hilarity ensued. I’ll just say that you should probably order a stiff glass of water if you choose the Habanero. I am very interested in going back to Vault just to keep trying all their happy hour drinks which range from $4-$5. Killer deal and great bartenders.

Fourth Stop: Food Front. Yesterday was the very first delivery of my CSA box so I dragged myself away from the barrage of delicious drinks at Vault and walked over to Food Front Grocery Cooperative to pick up my box. It was pretty big but I waited to open it until I got home. Suffice to say I was a little disappointed. Perhaps it was the fault of the buzz in my head from rich food and alcohol, but the lettuces all looked wilty, the baguette was a little damp from the veggies and the box was really only half-full. There was a bag full of crimini mushrooms that look yummy and a little box of adorable strawberries. I’ll take another look tonight after work. As Andy said, a lot of the reason we are doing this is to support local organic farmers, so I need to put it in perspective. The weather probably isn’t helping this year’s harvest either. I’ll sample some goodies tonight and then pass judgement.

Fifth Stop: Couch. Pajamas and the end of season one of Big Love. Not loving the show, but still very entertained.

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Night

Leave a Reply

